Ash Wednesday in My Rear-view or Re-view Mirror

I have been reflecting/ruminating, this Ash Wednesday evening, on the tradition in the Western Church of inscribing the sign of the cross on the foreheads of the faithful with ashes.

What does it mean to me? During the course of the day, the following associations occurred to me:

  • The profound identification/connection it proclaims with the other two impositions that occur over the course of our life of discipleship – baptismal chrism and anointing for healing.
  • The profound identification/solidarity with the men and women of the Old and New Covenants who have used ashes as a sign of their repentance in hope.
  •  The ashen remains of the triumphant but not kept proclamations of faithfulness to the end from Palm Sunday last year that I am exhorted to acknowledge in the presence of a “good and loving God.” Looking back with honest in the embrace of such a God is life-giving and freeing not life-ending and condemning. So looking back in that way is looking forward in truth.
  • My forehead (my life) as the place where God desires for the apocalyptic battle to occur between the His victorious cross and sin and death in this world. After all, the face is the outward and visible statement of our identity.
  • The reminder that I am created – made from the dust – and that my salvation is a matter of my physical existence not just my spiritual existence. God loves His creation (me/you) and I will continue, for eternity, to be made of dust. What is more, He loves me enough to continue to breath into it His own life so that I am not “just dust”; and that “… and to dust you shall return” will not be followed by a period but a comma.

What meaningful associations did the ceremony provide for you? My prayer is that if you did attend an Ash Wednesday service and receive the ashes that it was a significant action instead of another empty ritual that will just turn into more ashes!

Fr. Thomas

4 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday in My Rear-view or Re-view Mirror

  1. Each individual’s uniqueness bonded in Christ’s sacrifice and continuing mercies was especially clear to me, –as each received the ashes.

  2. Thank you for adding your realization. I pray the Lord will use it to bear fruit in in your inner and outer life. I wonder what form that will take? I am sure it will be both delightful and fulfilling.

    Fr. Thomas

  3. Ash Wednesday is one of my very favorite services of the Church year. The reminder that I am “but dust” always produces in me something like what Isaac the Syrian spoke of, “the humility of joy.” It is such a relief to be reminded Who.is.God, and who isn’t, and to be so marked.

  4. Wonderful realization. The ashes remind me that “I am not God. I am the creature not the Creator.”

    Thanks for adding to the list.

    Fr. Thomas

Leave a Reply

