Church Year and Rhythms of Grace

I love the Church year. Its rhythms and themes mysteriously penetrate me from beyond and well up from within me at the same time. But, why should that surprise me. The life of Divine/human union is, by definition, the life of paradox.

I believe we were/are designed by God to receive indications of Truth through a sensitivity to the rhythms of His grace imbedded in the fiber of the created order and our own unique image bearing soul/body life. I, personally, cannot comprehend certain aspects of God’s will and the specific ways in which I need to adjust my life without the Church Year.

When I embrace the Church Year, the Holy Spirit transforms me in ways that make the rhythms of grace that I experienced as forced into rhythms that, mysteriously, are becoming more and more unforced. A reflection that touches on one of these rhythms can be found here.

Jesus said/says,

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion?
Come to me.
Get away with me and you’ll recover your life.
I’ll show you how to take a real rest.
Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it.
Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.
I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.
Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”
(Matthew 11:28-30 – The Message)

One thought on “Church Year and Rhythms of Grace

  1. Loved this, Fr. Thomas! I’m sharing it with friends. It certainly speaks to the basic loneliness of life, and puts Advent into perspective. Indeed, both this post and the last one have made Advent far more meaningful to me, and useful.

Leave a Reply

